Thursday, November 1, 2012

Who steals lawn signs?

The 2012 presidential election is right around the corner, for those of you who only read my blog and not any of the million or so larger news outlets that exist on the internet. Elections mean campaign signs in lawns, which means people writing into my local paper complaining that evil people keep stealing their lawn signs and isn't the other side terrible for doing that because it's like censorship.

I would like to propose an alternative theory for what's happening here. I blame drunk teenagers. Those younger than twenty but older than twelve are already pretty dumb most of the time, but when you put them into groups and add alcohol, they do even dumber things for dumber still reasons. They're not out to steal signs because of their ties to any sort of political affiliation. They do it because they're drunk.
Sometimes they steal signs from the campaigns they oppose because "man, that's messed up." Sometimes the reason for the sign stealing is "Oh my God I LOVE (candidate)!!". And sometimes the reason is "Hey guys, I hate (candidate). Wouldn't it be funny if I took this sign? You know, because I have it but I don't like, like (candidate). That's like ironic, right?"

I'm invoking Natty Light's Law: Sometimes, the most correct answer is the one that involves drunk people.