I'm going to say this, and I know it's going to piss off typographers, but I'm past the point of caring.
I'm over Helvetica. I no longer want to see prints of cutesy slogans set in helvetica on your goddamn Etsy store. I don't want to see your tshirt that's in helvetica to show what a goddamn graphic design badass you are. I sort of appreciate chalkboard, comic sans and papyrus that little bit more because they aren't fucking everywhere.
Near as I can tell, there was a period in the noughts (or the nulls, the zeroes, or my favorite, the 2Ks) where people didn't care about helvetica. Lots of stuff was in helvetica because that's what the logo was and there wasn't a need to change it. Great. Keep it that way. But then some documentary people were like why don't we do a documentary on a font.
And graphic designers FLIPPED THEIR SHIT. Suddenly it's like 'OMG, why aren't we putting everything in Helvetica? My business cards, my wedding invitations, my tattoos everything helvetica! THERE IS NO FONT BETTER THAN HELVETICA.
And it was relentless. For a while, it was cool. It played right into my hand when I was discovering fonts and realized that Comic Sans would never be cool and that Papyrus was never used properly. But then I grew tired of it. But the graphic designers weren't stopping. On and on. MORE HELVETICA! MORE!!!
I really hope this myopia wears off. I like futura. I like that font that looks like Bank Gothic, only better. I like the official London Underground font (but am I going to pay 130 bucks for it? Hell no). There's a whole wide world of fonts, people. Let's use them.
But not Chalkboard. Seriously, fuck that one. Herculanum too.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment