Despite the general feeling that what's going on in Japan is going to kill us, things aren't too bad. A minimal amount of radiation leaked out, but this was after an outdated, 40-year-old design was hit by an earthquake 10 times the maximum strength it should have held, (because the richter scale is log... a 3.0 is ten times weaker than a 4.0, etc) AND was hit by a 20 foot wave. That's pretty solid.
Or you could say 'look at Chernobyl', look how terrible that one was. Well, the Soviets designed something badly. Big shock there. And the thing is it failed under a perfect storm of horrible events happening in juuust the right sequence. That's actually not that bad. That's actually kind of a ringing endorsement, in a bizarre way that feels like something Reagan would have agreed with.
Anyways, I cling to my irrational affinity to atomic energy in the same way that old people will cling to crazy beliefs like "the Soviets are still around", or religion.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment